ABOUT US

Who we are

It’s hard to describe what walking into Ascension for the first time is like.  Many people are surprised at how informal and fun it is, others are struck by the church building and the space to meditate and think.  More than anything else however, people describe Ascension Church as being like a family.  From young professionals to retirees, new parents to established families, students to teachers and lecturers, you’ll meet all sorts of different people here.  Come and see for yourself, check out our service times.

Who’s Who

Marcus Gibbs

Marcus Gibbs

Vicar

Email Marcus:

marcus.gibbs@ascensionbalham.org
David Archer

David Archer

Church Warden

Email David:

office@ascensionbalham.org
Stephen Manning

Stephen Manning

Church Warden

Email Stephen:

stephen.manning@ascensionbalham.org
Tom Collins

Tom Collins

Curate

Email Tom:

tom.collins@ascensionbalham.org
Dan Francis

Dan Francis

Operations Manager

Email Dan:

office@ascensionbalham.org
Dorothy Penniecooke

Dorothy Penniecooke

Non Stipendiary Minister

Email Dorothy:

dorothy.penniecooke@ascensionbalham.org
Luke Steven

Luke Steven

Ordinand

Email Luke:

luke.steven@ascensionbalham.org
Laura Thornborough

Laura Thornborough

Parish Coffee Manager

Email Laura:

laura.thornborough@ascensionbalham.org
Sam Merrell

Sam Merrell

Ministry Assistant

Email Sam:

sam.merrell@ascensionbalham.org

History

Ascension Church (or ‘ The Church of Ascension’ as it was known at the time) was built by Arthur Cawston between 1883 and 1890, in response to the rapid population growth in the area south of Clapham. The church has been through many changes during the intervening years.

Ascension Balham in its more recent form is the product of a 1993 church graft, when around fifty members of a church called St. Mark’s Battersea Rise came to join a similar number of people who then made up the congregation at Ascension Balham.

In September 2013, the church welcomed its current vicar, Rev’d Marcus Gibbs.